Life goes on without me

By mid February I was out of the game. I was stuck in bed, miserable and nauseous and the only place I went was the doctor or the acupuncturist (and both of those were challenging). It was so hard to not be a part of Kelly and Andy’s life for several months, but I knew it would end eventually (even though it feels like forever!).

Kelly spent a lot of time reading with Dada.

IMG_0291

 

And going to swimming lessons, proudly wearing her Olympic medal.

IMG_0293

We had friends visit and I had been so excited to see them, but instead spent their entire trip in bed hating my life. At least Brooke had been around during my first pregnancy and knew what to expect, but I was still bummed to not be able to hang out! But Kelly did get to have fun  with her son.

IMG_0331 IMG_0332

 

Kelly also reached a milestone– her car seat was turned around! Nowadays you’re supposed to wait until 3, but it became impossible to get her in her seat and her knees were up to her ears. But hey, we made it to like, 2 years and 4 months! Kelly was super excited about her “new chair” and Andy reported that she giggled the whole first trip and enjoyed the wind in her hair.

IMG_0314

 

At the beginning of April, I started to feel a bit better, which was a huge relief after weeks of waking up feeling worse than the day before. Hooray for hormones calming down! Andy was out of town presenting at a conference, so my sister very nicely drove up for the weekend to care for Kelly and I. She spent time with Kelly and spoiled her rotten, brought me food in bed, and Girl Cleaned my house, which was lovely. Andy does the best he can with caring for Kelly and I and working all day, but well, he bachelor cleans the house! It was wonderful to have Jeanne truly clean my house, especially since I was still hyper sensitive to smells.

Kelly still talks about going to Starbucks with Aunt Jeanne for a “pink pop”!

IMG_0309

Andy wasn’t back until Wednesday, but I had the nanny to watch Kelly during the day, so I mostly just had to care for myself. One of the things that made me the most sick (other than feeding Goobers and the smell of the refrigerator) was taking out all my vitamins in the morning. For some reason, standing in the kitchen opening all those bottles sent me running to the sink to hurl (maybe because I was near the dreaded fridge?), so Jeanne put all my vitamins in little dishes before she left, so I wouldn’t have to do it myself.

IMG_0311

 

April was the long slow climb out of being super sick. I’m still not great, even though it is May. I still have my breakfast and vitamins delivered to me in bed, and some days, like this past weekend, I have to stay in bed all day, nauseous and tired. But, I have more good days than bad now, so hopefully by June I will at least be functional! I don’t expect to feel well until the baby is here, but I’ll take functional! But it is nice to know that even when I am sick, life goes on and people step up to take care of Kelly and I.

About samuelfamily

We are 30-somethings who are completely enamored with our miniature dachshund Goobers, team member Kelly Sue, who joined us in December 2011, and our newest team member, Norah Jo, who joined us in October 2014. We moved from Seattle to Bellingham in 2016, and spend our time traveling locally and globally, and tackling parenting together. We decided we were worthy of a blog after getting married in 2006 and taking a 5 week trip to Europe in 2007. While our day-to-day life isn't always that dramatic or adventurous, we manage to amuse ourselves. Enjoy. Or not. Whatever.
This entry was posted in babies, family, food, home, Kelly Sue, Posts, Seattle, toddler and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment