Incoherent blogging, Part Deux

Ok, hopefully after this post my writing and pictures will become a bit more cohesive. I’m not promising much here, considering that I am writing this on my first day on my own (Andy’s at work for half a day today), but I’ll do my best!

Things are great now, but for the first two weeks after Norah was born, I had a lot of work to do with my relationship with Kelly. Being so sick for so long meant a lot of other people cared for her and she became used to Mama being too sick or too tired or too big to do things with her. A great way for us to reconnect was for me to introduce her to fingernail painting! You can’t really see her nail polish, but she is so proud of her nails in this picture!
IMG_0693

Andy adoring our new baby.
IMG_0695

Who is wearing her kitty cat Halloween outfit.
IMG_0696

Wide awake!
IMG_0698

OK, maybe not.
IMG_0699

Taking care of two babies!
IMG_0701

Norah hanging out on her Very Hungry Caterpillar blanket from Nina.
IMG_0702

Kelly has been pretending that Violet is her baby and she is the mama.
IMG_0704

Celebrating the return to donuts after a long, gestational diabetes hiatus.
IMG_0705

My dad holding Norah for the first time.
IMG_0706

If your mornings are going to be very early, at least they are beautiful!
IMG_0707

My mom took this amazing shot of Kelly mid-jump!
IMG_0709

Kelly is excited about her new tutu.
IMG_0716

Twirl!
IMG_0717

Future Deejay?
IMG_0721

Sorry for the super close up of my nose, but the point of the picture is actually the barely-discernable necklace I am wearing, which used to hold three birthstones, and now proudly holds four! (Sorry Goobs, you’re not in on this one)
IMG_0724

Super excited to never need to carry airline sickness bags in my car or purse ever again!
IMG_0725

Andy showing off that Norah is officially a person! And The Man knows about it.
IMG_0726

Andy took Norah with him to his work’s game night, so I made sure she was dressed to impress.
IMG_0727

Norah often holds her ears when nursing or sleeping. Love it!
IMG_0854

Not the best view of my post-partum backside, but a very sweet shot of Kelly determinedly carrying her purse on her shoulder like Mama.
IMG_0860

Late night beauty (the baby, not my foot. Ew).
IMG_0862

Kelly excitedly reuniting with the nanny’s daughter, Anna, at a mall play area.
IMG_0865

Did I mention excited?
IMG_0866

Kelly playing with Norah.
IMG_0870

Big Sister and Baby Sister.
IMG_0872

Napping Beauty.
IMG_0875

Also napping, but not as beautiful.
IMG_0877

Andy and his coworkers (several of whom are having babies this year) have a joke about babies in a box, so they gave Andy an empty box when he went to gaming night and this is the picture he sent them. Even though the rest of us don’t know really know or get the joke, it’s still an insanely adorable picture.
IMG_0884

Ending this post the way I started it, with more shots of Kelly getting her nails painted! It is a handy way to get her to let me clip her nails.
IMG_0885

Proud hand model.
IMG_0889

IMG_0891

About samuelfamily

We are 30-somethings who are completely enamored with our miniature dachshund Goobers, team member Kelly Sue, who joined us in December 2011, and our newest team member, Norah Jo, who joined us in October 2014. We moved from Seattle to Bellingham in 2016, and spend our time traveling locally and globally, and tackling parenting together. We decided we were worthy of a blog after getting married in 2006 and taking a 5 week trip to Europe in 2007. While our day-to-day life isn't always that dramatic or adventurous, we manage to amuse ourselves. Enjoy. Or not. Whatever.
This entry was posted in babies, dogs, family, food, Goobers, home, Kelly Sue, Norah Jo, Posts, Seattle, toddler and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment