“Thanks for loving me through the puke”

Now that the second trimester has started, I am feeling MUCH better. I think I still need a week or two to get over this last bit o’ nausea and I tire out so easily it is borderline embarrassing, but the worst is definitely over and I no longer tell Andy on a daily basis that I changed my mind about having kids. (rumor has it, at the end of the pregnancy and during delivery, I will most likely tell Andy that again)

This morning Andy picked me flowers from our yard, now that the smell doesn’t make me ill. He wanted to thank me for loving him “through the puke”. Aw! I told him I felt I hadn’t much of a supportive partner, since I spent 10 weeks in bed being brought food and water and DVDs while I whined and gagged, but he claims I still somehow managed to listen to him and be supportive as he looks for another job (hello! need money for baby), finishes up grad school, and generally tries to keep the household going. I’m not sure I agree with him, since he has been MY lifeline throughout the first trimester and HE is the one who loved me through the puke (and managed to drive in an unknown city on a freeway while looking for crackers in the backseat and a rag or napkin while I was barfing into an airline bag in the front passenger seat), but I will take flowers any day!

A few picture highlights from the first few months, none of which involve me, as I refused pictures since I was green and pale and didn’t do my hair for months!

The pregnancy journal. Not a baby book, mind you, but a spot for Andy and I to write down our questions for the doctor each month and keep track of important information. We both love the part in March of the Penguins where they pass the egg between their feet and we always threaten to make Goobers do that. Do you think we can do that to our baby?

The Champion returns from his very first of many, MANY trips to the grocery store in attempt to find food I could keep down.

Baby Samuel’s first gift! A bib Andy’s mom made years ago and has been keeping, hoping for a grandbaby!

The bib I bought when Andy and I were in Ireland in 2008. I’m not one to have a bunch of baby stuff for years and years in anticipation of a baby, but this was too cute to resist.

I signed Beauregard up for its first book club! Here is the first delivery:

Most of my herbs died this summer, which is sad, but I had to remind myself that I can buy more little plants next year and this year my job is to grow a baby, not an herb garden! But Andy’s strawberry plants, which were all eaten by squirrels last year, were moved to the deck this year and we have strawberries!

About samuelfamily

We are 30-somethings who are completely enamored with our miniature dachshund Goobers, team member Kelly Sue, who joined us in December 2011, and our newest team member, Norah Jo, who joined us in October 2014. We moved from Seattle to Bellingham in 2016, and spend our time traveling locally and globally, and tackling parenting together. We decided we were worthy of a blog after getting married in 2006 and taking a 5 week trip to Europe in 2007. While our day-to-day life isn't always that dramatic or adventurous, we manage to amuse ourselves. Enjoy. Or not. Whatever.
This entry was posted in babies, family, food, home, Posts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment