Fourth of July

Andy, Goobers, and I had a great weekend relaxing at home on a RARE sunny Fourth of July in Seattle. We ate yummy Cuban sandwiches at the beachside stand Paseo and then visited the Phinney Ridge Farmer’s Market. We bought 2 flats of berries and should be set on pies, muffins, and pancake toppings until next summer!

strawberries

Andy raised the flag on our front porch. We often forget to do this (like on Flag Day), so we were darn proud of ourselves for remembering.

flag

We were finally able to enjoy our new backyard! And I think my little container garden may actually make it!

plants1

I was excited to start using the mint in some of my favorite drinks, and I made a caprese salad with our basil. I felt incredibly capable and cool, even though I know that if I lived on a Depression-era farm with only my gardening skills to feed us, we would starve!

plants2

Andy enjoyed the view from the patio:

plants5

plants4

plants3

Goobers enjoyed the sun in the backyard. We were airing out the duvet in anticipation of my birthday gift (which I knew about, having made Andy take pictures of it at Crate and Barrel with a list of what sizes to get!) and Goobers did a good job of not getting on it. Instead he sat right next to it, inching closer to it through out the day!

plants6

plants7

It was time to open the much-anticipated, not- surprising birthday gift!

gift1

gift2

gift3

Andy shucked fresh oysters and I enjoyed them in the hammock with some champagne!

food1

Then it was time to downshift from fancy to patriotic– brats and beer! Andy mistakenly tried to grill ALL of the hotdogs present!

food2

food3

We enjoyed our food while watching, appropriately, Yankee Doodle Dandy. And then it was time for cake! My favorite– Mint Chocolate Chip cake from Baskin Robbins. 

food4

food5

About samuelfamily

We are 30-somethings who are completely enamored with our miniature dachshund Goobers, team member Kelly Sue, who joined us in December 2011, and our newest team member, Norah Jo, who joined us in October 2014. We moved from Seattle to Bellingham in 2016, and spend our time traveling locally and globally, and tackling parenting together. We decided we were worthy of a blog after getting married in 2006 and taking a 5 week trip to Europe in 2007. While our day-to-day life isn't always that dramatic or adventurous, we manage to amuse ourselves. Enjoy. Or not. Whatever.
This entry was posted in dogs, food, Goobers, home, Posts, Seattle and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Fourth of July

  1. MOM says:

    Yummmmmm!

Leave a comment