Slow day in Rome

Today we didn’t do too much. With all of this traveling, sometimes you need time to relax and enjoy Saturday morning cartoons in Italian. Apparently, they take old American ones and dub them into Italian, as we watched Police Academy the Cartoon, the Fantastic Four, and Power Rangers in Italian!

We also reminisced about this time last year, as it was the weekend of our wedding. Thank you to all of you who attended, participated, and sent good wishes!

We did venture out to do some shopping, as I need dresses for the formal nights on the cruise. I did not want to drag nice dresses around with me for three weeks, and I assumed I would find stuff as I went, but it has been harded than I thought it would be. Sure, I could find some dresses in Rome for a few thousand dollars, but I really wanted something that I wouldn’t be scared to eat dinner in! We checked out one of the main shopping avenues, Cavour, as well as Rome’s version of a mall. Interesting, but not what I was looking for. We did find their version of a drug store/grocery store, so we were able to pick up on stuff like toothpaste, but it was no Target. I miss my two story Target at home. Sigh.

We decided to end our time in Rome and Italy with the original Fettuccini Alfredo restaurant (at least, that’s what they claim). It was super yummy, though the restaurant was somewhat tacky and the waiters were very aware of that! Who cares? The dinner was delicious!

While walking back (apparently, the metro closes at 10 pm in some parts, so we got to walk all the way home), we passed a museum doing a show on Valentino dresses. I had read about it and now I wish we had gone! I’m so glad we could see most of it from the outside, as it was brilliantly designed and bordering on eerie.

We were ready to head to Greece!

About samuelfamily

We are 30-somethings who are completely enamored with our miniature dachshund Goobers, team member Kelly Sue, who joined us in December 2011, and our newest team member, Norah Jo, who joined us in October 2014. We moved from Seattle to Bellingham in 2016, and spend our time traveling locally and globally, and tackling parenting together. We decided we were worthy of a blog after getting married in 2006 and taking a 5 week trip to Europe in 2007. While our day-to-day life isn't always that dramatic or adventurous, we manage to amuse ourselves. Enjoy. Or not. Whatever.
This entry was posted in food, Rome and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment